Creamy Carob Goodness: Recipe of the Week

Standard

The thought of going to a Memorial Day Barbecue as a Vegan was a little daunting, and it wasn’t the smell of roasting meat I feared (since meat surprisingly has little appeal to me now), but it was the knowledge of all the sweet goodies I would ‘miss.’

Of course I’m quite accustomed to bringing my own food to potlucks or other functions, since most baked goods make me violently ill.

But I wanted to bring a rock-em-sock-em dish, which is why in addition to all the veggies we brought for the grill, I decided to try Dr. Fuhrman’s Carob Avocado Cream Pie.

If you are not a vegan, you are probably shuddering at the use of the words avocado and carob in the same sentence. But let me just say, anyone who has trained their tastebuds to natural foods should try this pie. It is SO good, I felt guilty for eating it. Not only did I think it was loaded with sugar, but it tasted too good to be gluten-free.

In fact, it is so good that the first ‘test’ pie didn’t make it to the barbecue. 

In fact, it is so good that I made two other pies to ‘bring,’ out of pure benevolence, having absolutely no ulterior motives about leftovers. 

The thought DID cross my mind that my friends would shun the pie, thereby leaving me no choice but to take some home, but I would endure it graciously.

Without further ado…direct from Dr. Joel Fuhrman’s book Disease-Proof your Child:

Recipe of the Week: No Shuddering Allowed Avocado Carob Cream Pie

I have to give credit to Noah, who has been reading Disease-Proof Your Child (totally his idea), and who begged encouraged me to make some of these recipes.

The Raw Materials

Crust:

1/4 cup unsweetened shredded coconut

1/2 cup crushed raw macadamia nuts

4 medjool dates (or 8 small dates) pitted

The Method:

Place coconut, macadamia, and dates in food processor until everything is powdery. Then, place in bowl and knead the mixture until it begins to stick together.

Plop into pie pan, placing plastic wrap loosely on top. Press down gently and spread until the mixture covers the bottom of the pan.

Cream Filling:

2 tbsp raw carob powder (or more, to taste)

12 raw cashews

1 avocado (I used 2 avocados)

3 medjool or 8 regular dates, pitted

The Method:

Rinse the chunks out of your food processor, and place carob, cashews, avocado, and dates inside. Blend until creamy and smooth. Spoon filling over crust and chill by freezing for one hour before serving.

We found this is best served slightly frozen.

Now that I’ve shared this recipe, I need to sign off and go buy some avocado attend to my chores. 

Guten Appetit!

Leave a Reply

