Cancellation Policy

Standard
There's a running shoe under there somewhere.

There’s a running shoe under there somewhere.

After a run last week through ankle-deep snow, I felt like a Barbie doll who had its leg pulled out and ineptly stuck back in the socket. This strange phenomenon happens to me from time to time, and all I can do is wait until my hip and knee pop in that peculiar way that makes me want to laugh and cry at the same time.

While I wasn’t in pain during Crossfit last night, I kept unconsciously favoring that side, which threw everything off balance. It was a great workout, but a less-than-perfect performance. It didn’t inhibit me from doing 160 air squats, but it did make me lean forward during the thrusters, instead of keeping my weight on my heels.

My legs were already weak from running five miles through the snow before anyone was awake, and to top it with Crossfit that evening made my body cry out “Enough!”

Thus before bed, I made the decision to take an extra day off this week–even though I HATE canceling a run during marathon training! But my leg was hurting and my entire body craved rest the way a camel craves water.

For some reason my husband feels that getting up at 4am to run five to ten miles through the snow is a little extreme. I’m not sure I know what he’s talking about, but I do know he cares about me and above all else does NOT want me injured.

It does make me wonder when I began to think of marathons as common as Volksmarches? When did I go from collapsing after three miles to knocking out twelve just for fun? Why do I feel Crossfit is a great addition to my training, and not something that would sufficiently prepare a person for a career with Cirque du Soleil. And does this mean that someday I’ll see a marathon as the warm-up before my Ultra? Will I be an IronGrandma someday?

Marathons are extreme things (apparently), and the training requires a type of dedication that allows no excuses for snow or rain. However, it IS important to listen to your body. And I hate writing that phrase, because so many people use it without really defining it. So here is Keri’s easy translation:

Listening to your body simply means KNOWING the difference between your limits and your laziness.

To truly be in tune with your body takes time, effort, practice and on occasion, a day off.

Happy running, friends. And though winter may slow you down, don’t let the snow bring your training to a halt!

One response »

  1. I admire your attitude, Keri…how you persevere. Do listen to your own advise though…LISTEN TO YOUR BODY!! You must have beautiful lungs and heart and vascular system by now but I do worry a bit about your joints though. Do not be afraid to slow down and rest for a short while. Your Aunts and Granny are so proud of you but are concerned about your joints. They have all reached the age when the knees and ankles wear out. We all love you!

Leave a Reply

